top of page

Decodables: r-controlled

In the Flying Cat Academy lessons, the r-controlled syllable type is taught after the vowel diphthong, vowel team, vce, open and closed syllable types.   This means that any of the previously learned syllable types may appear in the r-controlled stories.  This pattern of including previously learned syllable types in the stories continues throughout all of the Flying Cat Academy decodable stories.  For this reason, it is important for you to know the order in which I teach the syllable types.  Here is the order: closed, open, vowel consonant-e, vowel team, vowel diphthong, r-controlled, and consonant-le.

The Flying Cat Academy r- controlled decodable stories are listed in the order in which the different concepts are taught in the Flying Cat Academy progression. For example, 'ar' is taught first so those stories will contain no other types of r-controlled vowels.  However, if a story contains 'or' then it may also include 'ar' since 'ar' has already been taught.  R-controlled vowels are taught in the following order: ar, or, er, ir, ur.

Please show your appreciation for these free decodable stories by becoming a website member.

If you would like a list of all of the Flying Cat Academy decodable stories, then just click on the "DOWNLOAD" button.

r-Controlled Syllable Stories

Links to Other Decodables
bottom of page