top of page

Decodables: Vowel Diphthongs

In the Flying Cat Academy lessons, the vowel diphthong is taught after the vowel team, vce, open and closed syllable types.   This means that any of the previously learned syllable types may appear in the vowel diphthong stories.  This pattern of including previously learned syllable types in the stories continues throughout all of the Flying Cat Academy decodable stories.  For this reason, it is important for you to know the order in which I teach the syllable types.  Here is the order: closed, open, vowel consonant-e, vowel team, vowel diphthong, r-controlled, and consonant-le.

Vowel diphthongs (like all of the other syllable types) are taught in a systematic way.  For this reason, the decodable stories on this page are listed in the order in which the different vowel diphthongs are taught in the Flying Cat Academy progression. For example, 'au' and 'au' are taught first so those stories will contain no other types of vowel diphthongs, but if a story contains 'oi' then it may also include 'au' since 'au' has already been taught.  Vowel diphthongs are taught in the following order: au, aw, oi, oy, oo, ou, ow, ie, ew, ea, igh

Please show your appreciation for these free decodable stories by becoming a website member.

If you would like a list of all of the Flying Cat Academy decodable stories, then just click on the "DOWNLOAD" button. 

Vowel Diphthong Syllable Stories

Links to Other Decodables
bottom of page